The Chicago Radiological Society (CRS) created the Harold Lasky Annual Oration in 2009 to honor Chicago-area radiologist Harold J. Lasky, MD (1922–2009), who played a pivotal role in developing the national quality assurance program that resulted in the Mammography Quality Standardization Act (MQSA) of 1994.

Dr. Lasky served as 1977–78 CRS president and as 1985–86 president of the Illinois Radiological Society. The Oration, which is scheduled to continue until 2014, is given by a speaker on the topic of breast imaging, leadership or organized medicine.

In 2012, the Harold Lasky Annual Oration was modifed to become the Lasky Foundation Breast Cancer Fund Resident Award and awarded each year during the Resident Poster Session.

2011–12: Pat Basu, MD, “A White House Fellow’s view of Policy and Politics in Washington D.C.”
2010–11: Frank Lexa, MD, “Health Care Reform: Impact on Radiology in 2011 and Beyond”
2009–10: Richard Cooper, MD, “Male Mammography”
2008–09: Thomas Hoffman, JD, “Why the ACR Matters”